Australia Flags

The Australian flag features three components: the British flag or “Union Jack” in the top left corner; the “Star of Federation” in the bottom left corner; and a constellation known as the Southern Cross in the right half of the flag. The Union Jack symbolizes Australia’s first European colonization by Britain as a penal colony. Beneath it is the seven-pointed federation star representing the six states of Australia and all of its territories (one point for all of them). On the right is the Southern Cross, which is visible from all Australian states and territories.